Arsenal History

Arsenal Football Club was founded in 1886 as a munition workers' team from Woolwich, then in Kent, now southeast London. They turned professional in 1891 and joined The Football League two years later.

They were promoted to the First Division in 1904 but financial problems meant they were liquidated and reformed. They were bought out by Sir Henry Norris that year and to improve the club's financial standing, he moved the team to Arsenal Stadium, Highbury, north London in 1913. After the First World War he arranged for the club's promotion back to the First Division, in controversial circumstances.

Arsenal was the first club from the South of England to join The Football League, in 1893, and they reached the First Division in 1904. Relegated only once, in 1913, they continue the longest streak in the top division,and have won the second-most top-flight matches in English football history.In the 1930s, Arsenal won five League Championships and two FA Cups, and another FA Cup and two Championships after the war. I

n 1970–71, they won their first League and FA Cup Double. Between 1989 and 2005, they won five League titles and five FA Cups, including two more Doubles. They completed the 20th century with the highest average league position.

Herbert Chapman won Arsenal's first national trophies, but died prematurely. He helped introduce the WM formation, floodlights, and shirt numbers, and added the white sleeves and brighter red to Arsenal's kit. 

Arsène Wenger was the longest-serving manager and won the most trophies. He won a record 7 FA Cups, and his title-winning team set an English record for the longest top-flight unbeaten league run at 49 games between 2003 and 2004, receiving the nickname The Invincibles, and a special gold Premier League trophy.

In 2006, they moved to the nearby Emirates Stadium. In terms of revenue, Arsenal was the sixth highest-earning football club in the world, earned €487.6m in 2016–17 season. 

Based on social media activity from 2014–15, Arsenal's fan base is the fifth largest in the world. In 2018, Forbes estimated the club was the third most valuable in England, with the club being worth $2.24 billion.

After conducting an overhaul in the club's operating model to coincide with Wenger's departure, Spaniard Unai Emery was named as the club's new head coach on 23 May 2018. He would become the club's first ever head coach, while also their second ever manager from outside the United Kingdom



  • First Division (until 1992) and Premier League[16][129]

Winners (13): 1930–31, 1932–33, 1933–34, 1934–35, 1937–38, 1947–48, 1952–53, 1970–71, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04

  • FA Cup[16]

Winners (13): 1929–30, 1935–36, 1949–50, 1970–71, 1978–79, 1992–93, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2002–03, 2004–05, 2013–14, 2014-15 2016-17

  • League Cup[16]

Winners (2): 1986–87, 1992–93

  • FA Community Shield (FA Charity Shield before 2002)[130]

Winners (13): 1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 

1948, 1953, 1991 (shared), 1998, 

1999, 2002, 2004, 2014

  • Mercantile Credit Centenary Trophy[131]

Winners (1): 1988–89


  • European Cup Winners' Cup[16]

Winners (1): 1993–94

  • Inter-Cities Fairs Cup[16]

Winners (1): 1969–70


  • 1970–71: League and FA Cup
  • 1992–93: FA Cup and League Cup
  • 1997–98: League and FA Cup
  • 2001–02: League and FA Cup

Make a free website with Yola